Walking The Fine Line…

between controlling blood sugar and losing weight

Ever since failing my post partum GTT, I’ve tried to abide by the GD diet’s mantra of ‘1-2 proteins for every carb’. But it’s hard. I quickly learned that the Weight Watchers plan is not conducive to this method.

So I’ve opted to go back to myfitnesspal to track my calories, carbs & proteins. But still I struggle.

It was so much easier when I was pregnant. I had a valid reason for sticking to the diet-my son. What I ate, he ate. He was my little parasite.

Now, 16 weeks post partum, it’s hard to get back into that ‘GD mentality’ of eating.  I don’t know why – it’s a fairly basic idea. Pair you carbs with proteins. But it was easier before when there was someone else’s health at stake too…  I wasn’t just eating for me, I was eating for him.

But I AM struggling.

Trying to maintain that pairing is hard when trying to lose weight. I’ve reached a standstill and the only thing I can think of is to lower my carb intake, not by alot, but just enough to keep my blood sugar in check (for when I do check it), and to help the weight to come off.
I also need to plan a little better. I used to have everything planned out, 3 meals & 3 snacks. But now, it’s another thing I’ve slacked on doing. I just happen to grab anything from the fridge and hope for the best. All it takes is 10 minutes at night to plan the next morning….
So hopefully if I can pull myself together, I can walk that fine line between controlling my bs and lose weight.

And succeed.

Leave a Reply

