Gestational Diabetes Turned Me Into The Pre-Diabtetic Quasi Vegetarian

I swear, I used to love meat. I dabbled in vegetarianism before and while I met TheHubs. But he’s a steak and potatoes kind of guy, so I followed suit (suite?). Give me a steak, med-rare, and I was a happy gal.

Then I got pregnant and developed Gestational Diabetes. The key with GD is pairing every carb with 1-2 OZ of protein. I had to eat 1 carb serving for breakfast and 3 for lunch and dinner each. Then count in 3 snacks of 2 carbs each…. add in protein. LOTS of protein. Cheese sticks, eggs, greek yogurt. And MEAT.

Each lunch and dinner resulted in 3-6 ounces of meat.

I’m tired of eating meat.

So, after some careful consideration and meal planning, I’m going vegetarian. I was nervous at first, because veg meals can be carb heavy, and with a T2 diagnosis looming over me, I can’t deal with a carb heavy meal.

So I’m turning to veggies and some dairy based proteins and lower carb meals. Yes, it’s not going to be easy, but after 2 days, I’m already feeling better.

Will I eat fish on occasion? Yep. Steak? Probably. But only on special occasions, maybe once a month or so. But I’d like to go meat-free 95% of the time if possible.

Go veggies!

One thought on “Gestational Diabetes Turned Me Into The Pre-Diabtetic Quasi Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

