I Have A Scale Addiction

And I’m not talking about snakeskin accessories. I’m talking about the 12″x12″ piece of machinery that’s sits on my bathroom floor.

That scale.

It’s amazing how a scale can dictate your day.  It’s amazing how much my world revolves around numbers. And that damn scale.

I’m finding myself stepping on the scale every day. Several times a day. I’m fully aware that weight can fluctuate day to day, hour to hour…. And that weighing 5-6 times a day is useless. But yet, I still do it.

I don’t know if it’s because our bathroom is kinda narrow & the scale is right on the floor. Open. Just waiting for me to step on it. Or if it’s the lure of the black numbers backlit by this lovely blue screen. I just don’t know.

I know I’m not a number. I’m not defined by the 3 numbers that comprise my weight. I’m more than that number.

I’m a wife.

I’m a mother.

I’m a daughter.

I’m a friend.

So why do I put so much stock into the number on the scale?

In an effort to break the cycle, I’m putting my scale away. After one last weigh in, that is. And it was a doozy! I finally hit my 5% weight loss – so on that high note, my scale is now in the closet until June 1st.

Hopefully this will prove fruitful.

2 thoughts on “I Have A Scale Addiction

Leave a Reply

