I follow a paleo-quasi-vegetarian-no-red-meat-semi-gluten-free-try-to-avoid-processed-foods diet

Why do I have to be pegged into a diet? Why can’t I avoid meat for weeks, and enjoy a turkey burger? Why can’t I go gluten free when possible? Why can’t I indulge in a processed food once in a blue moon? Why can’t I eat chicken one day, and veggie burgers another?

Why can’t I just eat? Why does my ‘diet’ have to be labelled as something?

Yesterday I saw a segment on veganism and a little part of me thought “veganism-yes!”.  But the guy ‘promoting’ the ‘vegan’ ‘diet’, called it a ‘plant strong’ diet. Reason being is you can be a vegan & eat junk food, or as he called it, a’junk food vegan’. Makes sense. But me being a vegan would be tough. It’s expensive and very restrictive. I don’t do well with restrictions.

So then I thought about vegetarianism, again.  It resparked my desire to go vegetarian. Again. But then I thought about burgers. And chicken. And I got sad. I like those foods. I like fast food too.

Then I thought some more.

It’s hard to commit to vegetarianism, because TheHubs loves meat. I do too, but I feel better when I don’t eat meat. I don’t feel so… heavy.  So I wind up cooking 2 meals most night, one with meat, one without. Other nights, it’s just easier to eat whatever. And there are tons of healthy vegetarian options when eating out. Not just burgers and fries.

But feeling better should trump easiness, eh?

I think I’m going to challenge myself this week.

No meat.

If I can do one solid week, why can’t I do another? And another? And if it doesn’t stick, or I decide to incorporate meats here and there, is that such a bad thing?

3 thoughts on “I follow a paleo-quasi-vegetarian-no-red-meat-semi-gluten-free-try-to-avoid-processed-foods diet

  1. Oh, I should note that I’m following the plant-strong diet you referred to 90 percent of the time. I like it, but like you I don’t like to be restricted so I need that 10 percent wiggle room (mostly for gooey, chocolate goodies!!). Celeste:)

  2. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the
    easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly
    get irked while people think about worries
    that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail
    upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having
    side effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get
    more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

