One Year Ago…

I was diagnosed with GD in my 25th week of pregnancy. It’s not something you want to hear while pregnany, but the road it has taken me down has been a life changing one. I’ll share something I posted on my Gestational Diabetes board today…

One Year Ago…

Just about 1 year ago I was in a place many of you are in…. Getting diagnosed.

I cried when the nurse from my OBs office called. BAWLED. I was in shock.  What does this mean? What do I do? What about my LO?!

I panicked. I googled. I panicked more (PSA: don’t google!).

Then the rational part of my brain took over, somewhat. I focused on researching the ‘why’… I was shocked to see its mostly the placentas fault. Not that I had eaten grilled cheese for dinner every night for 2 weeks. Not that I ate donuts from the QT almost daily. Not that I was fat. It was my placenta. Yes, familial diabetes can increase my risk, but doesn’t mean I’ll ABSOLUTELY get gd.

So it was then, and after a few days of crying, that I was determined to NOT let GD run or ruin my pregnancy. I called the shots.

My endo was/is FABULOUS. As was my CDE who I dealed with weekly via phone calls. My first appointment was filled with information, and my endo didn’t let me leave until I felt comfortable. They had also realized they hadn’t gotten me into a class until 2 weeks later, so instead of waiting they scheduled me to meet with the CDE (certified diabetes educator) in 2 days. They sent me home that day with a meal plan and a brief instruction on how to count carbs. and I would follow up with the CDE 2 days later.

For those 2 days I planned out my every meal and snack, weighed my foods dilligently. I felt great.

Until I tested my BS.

I got my first, and certainly not my last, elevated number.

I cried. FOR HOURS. I couldn’t function for the rest of the day. Poor DH came home to a weepy puddle or pregnancy hormones curled up in a quasi fetalposition on the couch.

DH kindly hugged me and told me it was my first test. That it takes time. and patience, and trial and error. And that crying wasn’t going to help the situation (I wanted to punch him in the throat at the moment – but he was right). So I picked myself up, made dinner. Carefully weighed, measured, etc… my dinner that night was well in range. As was my fasting on the morning of my CDE appointment.

I got there and told myself I’d be strong and not cry. But I did. GD is overwhelming. My CDE went over my diet and my food journal,made some suggestions (ice cream for bedtime snack and 2 proteins per 1 carbs at meals), and reassured me that the scary risks we often read about are rare and usually with those with uncontrolled GD. Somehow, hearing it from a medical professional made it all better.

After I left there I made it  apriority to grab the GD bull by the cheesesticks. No more crying. No more fretting over elevated (not high or failed) numbers. I called the shots (again).

Breakfast was the hardest meal for me. But I worked closely with my CDE to find a breakfast that worked (Whole wheat ritz crackers with butter, 1 egg and 1oz cheese, in case you’re wondering). I ate that every morning for almost 14 weeks. I figured if it worked, why mess with it. Plus, I hate breakfast so keeping it a mindless meal worked well for me.

I ate normal food. In what I now realize are normal portions. I indulged (not cheated) in sweets once a day – bedtime. Sometimes twice if I was really craving something. I tried to roll with the punches, sometimes I succeeded sometimes not.

At week 28, after a week of elevated numbers and walking until I was in pain after meals, we explored the lovely world of insulin.

As mad, scared, and stressed as I was about insulin, seeing my numbers consistently in range took all of that away. Eating became fun again.

I wound up, in the end, on 20u a day (10u humalog75/25 at breakfast, 4u humalog at lunch, 6u humalog 75/25 at dinner, no meds for fastings).

14 weeks of GD, 11 weeks of insulin. and in the end, 1 HEALTHY HAPPY baby boy.

We started discussing birthing options in week 25, when I was diagnosed, only because I’m a planner. We kept it open for an induction between 39-40 weeks (my OBs standard or care for GD). ITS NEVER TOO EARLY TO START DISCUSSING THIS WITH YOUR OB OR MIDWIFE!!!

At 37 weeks, with pre-e knocking on my door, we scheduled my induction for 39 weeks (Oct 29, 2012).

My induction story is here to keep this post on the shorter (HA!) side…

Somehow, you get thru GD. You come out stronger, wiser, and usually lighter Wink

If I could do this for 14 weeks, other things are a piece of cake. I did slip up here and there (we’re human AND PREGNANT)… but I learned to forgive myself. That ONE OR TWO OR A FEW elevated numbers in 14 weeks isn’t detrimental to my LO. I learned to be flexible… I learned about better eating habits. I always tried to find the positives – even if it was calling a 154 after a taco salad an elevated number instead of a failed BS test. I learned that I’m a strong woman. That I can control what seems to be the uncontrollable.

I came out of GD with a better understanding and a will to educate and help others. and MYSELF.

GD is hard, yes, but its the outlook you take on it that makes it easier. So don’t focus on the “I can’t have…” or “it sucks that…” focus on the “I can…” “I will…” “I love…”

And while you have GD, don’t let it control your pregnancy. I’m a big advocate of no food should be off limits. But remember –  pregnancy isn’t JUST about food. Its about celebrating a growing tiny human(s) in our belly!! Take time to enjoy that. relish it.

And FTMs……… Enjoy your ME time… because it’s hard after. So enjoy those quiet Calgon and Folgers moments.

And you CAN get thru GD, with or without meds, with or without inductions, with or without cheesesticks….. You’ll come out a stronger woman, mother, wife, sister, daughter, than before. You may not believe that now, but it’s true.

It all becomes a distant memory once you hold your LO for the first time. the first time you hear him/her cry wipes away any finger poke memory.

You are all strong ladies… yes, GD is tough, but keep this quote in mind:

The harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph.
~Thomas Paine

Stay strong mamas… allow yourself the wiggle room and ability to not be perfect all the time. Enjoy your pregnancy, and always pair a carb with  a protein!

7 thoughts on “One Year Ago…

  1. GD sucks! I can relate to everything you said, other than insulin. I managed to control my GD through my diet and the only real struggle I had was with breakfast. That was the only meal that would send my BS through the roof! I could barely have any carbs at all in the morning. I ate eggs with either bacon or sausage and one slice of high-fiber bread with a little butter, Every. Single. Day! I’m not a huge egg eater as it is so eating them everyday was awful. I had to laugh all the time that while I was keeping my BS down, I was sending my cholesterol levels way up there! Oh well. I knew it was temporary and I had to do it for my baby.
    I didn’t realize our sons were born only a day apart. Also, all of your abbreviations are making me wonder… Were you on TB (another I’m pretty sure you’ll understand)?

  2. Hey Chelley,
    I just made a post on BBC because I passed my postpartum Glucose test! I thanked you in my post, but then I noticed that your account is not active anymore. A quick Google of your screen name led me here. Anyway, I just wanted to thank you for all the questions you answered and the info you provided. It was invaluable and helped me through a very tough time! I hope you’re doing well. Happy holidays!
    -Erin (serendipity418 on BBC)

Leave a Reply

