So this whole no tracking thing…

Yeah, not going to work…

I started Sunday. I had good intentions. I felt like I had made a great life-changing decision.

Man, was I wrong.

I started out great, watched my portions. Felt oddly guilty about not logging my food, but I trudged on.  I slowly found myself sneaking a bite here and there, or a few pita chips, or a Hershey’s mini… just because I didn’t have to track it.

These little things lead to a larger portion at dinner, and a bowl of ice cream.

All because I wasn’t holding myself accountable.

Now, this was a weekend, so I’m sure I would do better if I had started on a week day, where there’s usually less temptation around. But I’m not so sure now. I think I’m a loose cannon. I can not be left to not hold myself accountable for what I’m eating. I can’t trust myself to mentally keep track of what I’m eating.

I am not that lucky.

I think after so many years of holding myself to the tracking as accountability, I can’t stray. I can’t be left to ‘wing it’ and not gain. I also felt like I had no idea what I had eaten that day, and I really can not remember what I ate. But ask me about Saturday and today, and I can list out everything.

So I’m back to counting points, and just being really mindful of what I’m eating.

Next thing to work on is getting in exercise…

Leave a Reply

